Fuji X-E2 – Amazing Quality!


My Fuji  X-E2 – Just Perfect!

Shrimper Carolyn Ann, Fuji X-E2

Shrimper Carolyn Ann, Fuji X-E2

I have to tell you that I am REALLY a Fuji fan.  I have the following Fuji bodies:

  1. X-Pro 1 – Color
  2. X-Pro 1 – 720nm Infrared Conversion
  3. X-E1 – Color
  4. X100s – My walk around companion!
  5. X-E2 – Color

I also have ALL of the lenses but 2!

I moved to Fuji after a long search for a small light weight camera system after loosing 80% use of both hands and arms.  I went through ALL of the micro 4/3 systems (and even kept 2!).  I sold $40,000 in Canon bodies and L glass and have NEVER looked back!  

In the Fuji, not only have I found perfections but being a range finder styled system it is like going home to mom!

X-E2

X-E2

I have a X100s that I use for most of my walk around work, it is just so tiny and generates amazing images.  So when Fuji announced the X-E2 with the same sensor and with even more upgrades I ordered one from Amazon.  Much to my amazement it shipped a week later!  I have had it in hand now for about 2 weeks and just yesterday took it out to a local fishing port for a bit of creative work.  I love the upgrades and how fast this camera is.  It even passes the X100s in ability.  I originally purchased the X-E1 in order to take advantage of its electronic remote shutter release.  It enables me to hook it up to devices like a lightning trigger and my water drop collision system.  The X-E1 did a great job with these devices and I expect no less with the X-E2 but that is for another day.

X-E2 Top Panel

X-E2 Top Panel

Yesterday I took it out to shoot shrimp boats in North Carolina and have to tell you that the camera just blew me away.  It is such a major upgrade over the X-E1 that I cannot believe that they came from the same company!  The controls are CRISP, the knobs just snap from position to position with no play and they stay where you put them.  The larger LCD is nice but the faster EVF is a sight to behold. I dressed the camera in a RRS L bracket with grip and put on a nice soft release.  Physically except for new buttons and placement the camera is identical to the X-E1.  One MAJOR improvement is the addition of 3 stops of EV adjustment instead of the normal 2 that Fuji has provided in the past.

All in all I am really happy with this upgrade.  I will keep the X-E1 and convert it to 800nm IR in the near future.  There is no sense in letting that viable and great camera go to waste!

Little Scrapper, X-E2, RAW converted in ACR

Little Scrapper, X-E2, RAW converted in ACR

Next I put the camera into the JPG mode and shot color & B&W images in camera.  The results speak for them selves!

Shrimper Donkey X-E2

Shrimper Donkey X-E2

 

Shrimper Donkey, CAMERA B&W  X-E2

Shrimper Donkey, CAMERA B&W X-E2

Carolyn Ann, Color, X-E2

Carolyn Ann, Color, X-E2

Carolyn Ann, In Camera B&W X-E2

Carolyn Ann, In Camera B&W X-E2

Working Shrimper Deck, X-E2

Working Shrimper Deck, X-E2

Working Shrimper Deck In Camera B&W, X-E2

Working Shrimper Deck In Camera B&W, X-E2

This posting was never meant to be a review, rather a statement of its impact upon me with sample images!

Please let me know what you think…

23 comments on “Fuji X-E2 – Amazing Quality!

  1. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Fujifilm X Serie...

  2. Mark,

    I originally bought the X-E1, but returned it when I heard about the X-E2 which just arrived. My plan is eventually to convert the X-E2 to the Goldie IR filter. I also bought on you recommendation the 35mm Fugi lens. I was wondering are you going to try any of the new Fugi lenses or the Zeis Touit 12mm lens for IR.

    Thanks,

    Sue

    Susan Eisert sueyeisert@verizon.net

    • Sue, the following lenses work great in IR:

      Fuji
      35mm
      14mm
      55-200mm
      Zeis Touit
      12mm
      Volghtlander
      12mm
      75mm

      Bad lenses
      Fuji 18mm, 60mm macro, 18-55mm

      The other fuji lenses I have not tested yet.

      I am going to convert my old X-E1 to 800nm IR

      • I have been using the IR filter from Hoya, the IR R72. Was a bit disappointed because I see a kind of brighter ‘hot spot’ in the middle of the images. I’ve found other posts in which this was also reported. Not sure it is related to the Hoya (seems not logical), the Fuji lenses or even the sensor (anything is possible, it has a quite thick glass protection over it). But… eventually it could also be true with other IR-filters?

      • Yes, it is a combination of the lens on the camera and the sensor as well as the inside paint on the lens barrel. There are some posts here telling of the IR usefulness of the Fuji Lens line.

      • After the disappointment of the 18-55mm lens for IR work, I tested and then purchased the 16-50mm XC lens. It works beautifully, no hotspot at all.
        Cheers Eric

  3. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Mark Hilliard | ...

  4. Pingback: X-E2 vs X-E1 ISO comparison at focus numerique + first impressions | Fuji Rumors

  5. There appears to be a halo effect over the trees in the shrimp boat image – is this a straightforward OOC jpeg or has it been PP’d ?

  6. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Fujifilm X Camer...

  7. that’s what i’ve thought too, but keith wrote about it earlier – the haloes are quite
    visible into your ship image. I’d love to see some jpeg OOC samples w/o PP’ing. 🙂

    greetings
    marc

  8. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Fujifilm X Serie...

  9. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Fuji X Series Ca...

  10. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Digital Photogra...

  11. We have a Canon and a Pentax. These Fuji shots are amazing but talent is what is really shining here. Very nice job. Love the Magwood pix on the top of your blog.

  12. Pingback: Fuji X-E2 - Amazing Quality! | Fuji X files | S...

Leave a comment